Frequently Asked Questions
Students must be at least 14 years and 8 months old by the first day of class in order to attend. No exceptions may be made with this rule because it is regulated by the Michigan Department of State.
Segment One includes 24 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction and a minimum of four observation hours in the vehicle with a certified instructor. This is the first step for teens who wish to obtain a driver's license before they turn 18 years old. Both Segment One and Segment Two classes are required by the State of Michigan in order to receive a driver's license before a person turns 18 years old.
Segment 1: cost $345
A $150 deposit is required to enroll in a class.
This payment is non-refundable. You may transfer to another class at no additional charge if you inform our office of the change within 72 hours before your scheduled class time. If you do not transfer your enrollment 72 hours prior to the course start time, there will be a no-show fee of $75. You may pay the entire course cost at any time, but the balance is due on the first day of class. You may pay with a debit/credit card in your online student account, or bring a check or money order the first day of class. No cash will be accepted in the classroom. If you wish to pay any unpaid balance prior to class by check or money order, payments can be sent to acceler8 driver education 10608 hewitt road brooklyn, michigan 49230. All payments are due prior to the first day of class.
To inquire about special payment options please contact everett at 517-592-8881
Segment 2: cost $55
Payment of $55 is due in full at the time of registration.
This payment is non-refundable. You may transfer to another class at no additional charge if you inform our office of the change within 72 hours before your scheduled class time. If you do not transfer your enrollment 72 hours prior to the course start time, there will be a no-show fee of $25.
Do you have payment plans available?:
To discuss other payment arrangements please contact everett at 517-592-8881
Our payment plan is as follows:
- Half of the cost of the entire class must be paid no later than the first day of class. You can do this with check, money order, or cash.
- The balance must be paid by the last day of class to receive your certificate of completion.
- Students will not receive their Segment One Completion Certificate until the balance is paid in full.
- To discuss other payment arrangements please contact us at 517-592-8881
Please bring a pencil and notebook, all other materials will be provided in class.
Students will be signing up for behind the wheel driving times during the first week of class. These drive times are in addition to the scheduled class times. Segment one is 24 hours of class time,6 hours of behind the wheel driving time, and a minimum of 4 observation hours in a vehicle. We schedule drives 7 days a week. Students will schedule and maintain their drives using their online student account.
Segment Two consists of 6 hours of classroom instruction – no drive time involved. Students must wait at least 90 days after receiving their Graduated Level One License before taking the Segment Two class. Both Segment One and Segment Two classes are required by the State of Michigan in order to receive a driver's license before a person turns 18 years old.
You must have held your graduated level one learners license for at least 90 days and have completed at least 30 hours of behind the wheel daytime logged driving and 2 hours of logged nighttime driving. If a student took segment one with acceler8 driver education an email will be sent notifying the student of their eligibility to register for segment 2.
Please bring a pencil, notebook and proof of logged driving hours. This can be on paper or in the road ready app.
No. However, materials handed out in class must be returned and in the same condition they were given out in on the fist day of class. If a book is lost of damaged the cost is $30.
Segment 1: student are allowed to miss one class without penalty. Any additional classes will need to be made up. Discuss this with your instructor as soon as you know you will be missing class.
Segment 2: no classes may be missed.
All communication about cancellations will be communicated via text/email and in your student account.
Click on link below
Secretary of State identification requirements
A licensed driver, 21 years of age or older.
Yes, however they must be accompanied by an adult who is at least 21 with a valid driver's license.
Yes, you must have gone to the Secretary of State, and gotten your Graduated Level One License at least 90 days before starting Segment Two. If not, you will not be allowed to take Segment Two until you have done so.
There is an expiration date on the Graduated Level One – it should be the student's 18th birthday. This is the day that the permit expires and you have until then to take a road test.
1. Social Security number or eligibility for SSN
2. Permanent legal presence in the United States
3. Identity (legal name and date of birth)
4. Proof of Michigan residency