Segment 2 Cost is $55.00
What is Segment 2?
Segment Two consists of 6 hours of classroom instruction – no drive time involved. Students must wait at least 90 days after receiving their Graduated Level One License issued at the Michigan Secretary of State office before taking the Segment Two class. Both Segment One and Segment Two classes are required by the State of Michigan in order to receive a driver's license before a person turns 18 years old.
To be Eligible for Segment Two:
- Have Level 1 driver license, and a driving log of the student's driving hours.
- Have successfully completed a Segment 1 driver education course
- Student must have held a valid Level 1 license for a minimum of 90 consecutive days.
- Student must have completed a minimum of 30 hours of driving and 2 hours of night time driving with a parent, legal guardian, or any licensed driver who is 21 years of age or older with permission from a parent.
- Students must: Attend all 6 hours of instruction
- Complete a teen parent contract.
- Pass a 20-question exam with a 70% or better on the State of Michigan mandatory written test.
- Missing and/or incomplete assignments will result in automatic failure of class. Participate in class discussions activities, and complete all work on time.
- Students are allowed two re-takes of the State test before being required by the State of Michigan to retake the entire Segment 2 classes. Students needing to retake the class will be required to pay the full fee.