Segment 1 Cost is $345.00
What is Segment One?
Segment One includes 24 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction and a minimum of 4 observation hours in a vehicle with an instructor. This is the first step for teens who wish to obtain a driver's license before they turn 18 years old. Both Segment One and Segment Two classes are required by the State of Michigan in order to receive a driver's license before a person turns 18 years old.
To be Eligible for Segment One a student must:
have reached the age of 14 years and 8 months by the first day of Segment 1 class and Have permission from a parent or legal guardian
- A minimum of 24 hours of instruction.
- A student must pass the state-approved written test to earn a certificate of completion.
- Acceler8 Driver Education requires additional classroom provisions that must be met to award a certificate including: attendance, homework, no-texting while driving plan, and student-parent driving agreement. Passing the state test does not guarantee that a student has passed the classroom phase.
- Time spent at home studying or completing homework is not considered time earned toward the 24-hour classroom requirement.
Behind the wheel Driver Training Requirements
- A minimum of 4 hours of classroom instruction must be completed prior to beginning driving instruction.
- A minimum of 3 hours of driving instruction must be completed before the last classroom session. The remaining driving instruction must be completed no later than 3 weeks after the last classroom session.
- A minimum of 6 hours of on-the-road driving instruction.
- A student must receive 4 hours or more of observation time in the training vehicle.
- Important Information: For students to be issued a Segment 1 certificate of completion, they must successfully complete both the classroom and behind the wheel driving instruction. A student could pass the classroom portion, but fail driver education based on his driving skills and not receive a Segment 1 certificate of completion.
The driver education Segment 1 certificate of completion is not a permit to drive and cannot be treated as a driver license. After completing Segment 1, the student and parent must go to a Secretary of State branch office to apply for a Level 1 driver license.
These requirements are consistent with the guidelines set forth by the State of Michigan.
Accelrer8 Driver Education uses the ADTSEA (American Driver Traffic Safety Education Assoc.) curriculum, which has been adopted by the State of Michigan. In addition, Acceler8 also uses the following materials to supplement our classroom instruction.
Michigan Traffic Safety Education Student Manual 2010 edition (MDTSEA)
Driving Skills Test Study Guide (Ruth Johnson, SOS) View booklet
What Every Driver Must Know (Ruth Johnson, SOS) View booklet
Michigan Graduated Driver Licensing( a Guide for parents) View booklet